Ryan Harvey

Photos: Example 2

In Uncategorized on May 19, 2000 at 12:17 pm

Aperture and Shutter-Speed, EXAMPLE #2

Photo 1: This is the initial photo I shot at basic settings in my very dark hallway. Notice the details present in the lit parts of the window but no details on any surroundings.

Photo 2: Here I adjusted nothing except the shutter-speed to see what type of light absorbed on the digital sensor. Notice how the wall has come into the picture a little bit and that some of the detail in the window has been whited out. The blur is caused my slight motions as I tried to sit still. The lessons here is that shutter-speed on it’s own was not enough to capture a significant difference in the photo..

Photo 3: Here I adjusted the aperture lower to allow for a wider opening and also adjusted my ISO rating up all the way. Scientifically, I have not yet been able to identify why I was able to shoot this photograph, given that it is significantly brighter than my eye could see. I used no flash, yet somehow the light absorbed through the sole light source (the window) allowed for unlit portions of the room (the walls and frame) to come into focus.

Leave a Reply

